Our Electricity Network

Scanpower is one of the twenty eight regional electricity distribution companies in New Zealand, supplying power to customers in the Northern Tararua / Southern Hawkes Bay region.

Our network covers a geographic area of 2,100km² and includes 875km of overhead and underground power lines, 1400 transformers and additional assets such as switchgear and circuit breakers.

Scanpower takes supply from the National Grid at Transpower’s Woodville and Dannevirke substations at 110kV and runs an 11kV distribution system. This covers the towns of Dannevirke, Woodville and Norsewood, in addition to rural areas such as Ormondville, Matamau and Weber.

We operate an in-house team of line mechanics, technicians, engineers and project managers who maintain and operate our electricity network assets. Details of this can be found in our annual asset management plan.

Of paramount importance to us is the safety of the general public and our staff. If you have any questions regarding your power supply or notice any potential dangers, we request that you contact our network team immediately on 0800 80 80 39.

Other enquiries such as temporary disconnections, house relocation, new power supplies and trees can also be directed to any member of our network management team.

To report a power outage, please call 0800 80 80 39 at any time to contact our fault response team.